1975
page-template-default,page,page-id-1975,page-parent,stockholm-core-2.2.3,select-theme-ver-8.2,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,side_area_uncovered,,qode_menu_center,qode-mobile-logo-set,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.6.0,vc_responsive

• OTTAWA • Choeur philharmonique du Nouveau Monde

Dear friends, choristers, musicians and music lovers,

 

This year the whole world was put on hold.  For musicians and choristers alike, it has affected us in many ways.  We were planning to present Beethoven’s Missa Solemnis in the spring of 2019, but those plans had to be put on hold. Like many choirs we were able to continue to study online during our lockdowns while we awaited a solution from health regulations.  The SPNM choirs were able to study two great works while in lockdown, the Dubois Requiem as well as the Strauss Waltzes.  

 

This fall we are planning in person rehearsals once again.  We are looking forward to presenting Johannes Brahms’s German Requiem in the spring of 2022.   We are also, as always, working on other concert opportunities.  

 

We invite you to watch our social media platforms as well as consult this website for regular updates.

 

The SPNM will be recruiting new members this year as well as welcoming back many of our members.  Please visit our recruitment page for more information.

 

Our choirs are committed to bringing quality music to our audiences.  We are anxious to begin again where we left off.  We look forward to continuing to be part of your musical community once again. 

 

Kind regards,

 

Eunice Racicot,

President 

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

EUNICE RACICOT

President

PIERRE FOUCHER

Vice-president

MARY FRANCES BELL

Secretary

GENEVIÈVE RICHER

Treasurer

RODNEY WILLIAMSON

Director

KEN TRUDEL

Director

JEAN DESMARAIS
Rehearsal pianist

 

Gifted with extraordinary versatility, Ottawa-based pianist Jean Desmarais studied with Monique Collet-Samyn (Hull), Anisia Campos, Rafi Armenian (Montreal), Monique Deschaussées (Paris), Johanna Stieler (Berlin) and Dalton Baldwin (United States).

 

Mr. Desmarais has won several international Awards and premiered over 200 new creations, many from Canadian composers. Active on stages all over the world he has been invited to play in France, Italy, Germany, Poland, Romania, Russia, Mexico, USA and Canada. He was soloist with, among others, the Philharmonic Orchestras of Brasov (Romania), Szczecin (Poland) and Chihuahua (Mexico), as well as with I Musici de Montreal, Les Violons du Roy (Quebec ), and the Chamber Orchestra of Hull.

 

Mr. Desmarais has played in recital at the Banff Centre with the legendary Pinchas Zukerman, and has collaborated with artists such as Ben Heppner, Dame Kiri Te Kanawa, Amanda Forsyth, Joel Quarrington. He has been invited to coach at the Canadian Opera Company for several opera productions, and in 2007, was the only Canadian pianist invited to play in recital at the Tchaikovsky Conservatory in Moscow to commemorate the 50th anniversary of Glen Gould’s famous recital there.

 

As one of the most respected teachers in Canada, Mr. Desmarais’ students have gone on to win national awards and study in major music schools such as the Sorbonne (Paris), Conservatory of Amsterdam, and the Cleveland Music Institute.

 

Mr. Desmarais was awarded the Commemorative Medal for the 125th anniversary of Canadian Confederation for his outstanding contribution to the arts in Canada and abroad. He has recently taken on the post of Music Director and Principal Conductor of Strings of St. John’s in Ottawa.

REHEARSALS 

 

THURSDAY NIGHTS
from   7 H 00   À   10 H 00

 

at Martin Luther church, formally Mount Calvary Lutheran church, 933, Smyth rd,
from early September to mid-June.

YOU CAN JOIN US BY CLICKING HERE

1377
page-template-default,page,page-id-1377,page-parent,stockholm-core-2.2.3,select-theme-ver-8.2,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,side_area_uncovered,,qode_menu_center,qode-mobile-logo-set,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.6.0,vc_responsive

• OTTAWA • Choeur philharmonique du Nouveau Monde

Chers amis, choristes, musiciens et mélomanes,

 

Cette année, le monde entier a été mis en veilleuse. Pour les musiciens comme pour les choristes, cela nous a touché à bien des égards. Nous avions prévu de présenter la Missa Solemnis de Beethoven au printemps 2019, mais ces plans ont dû être suspendus. Comme de nombreuses chorales nous avons pu continuer à étudier en ligne pendant nos confinements en attendant une solution de la réglementation sanitaire. Les choeurs du SPNM ont pu étudier deux grandes œuvres pendant le confinement, le Requiem de Dubois ainsi que les Valses de Strauss.  

 

Cet automne, nous prévoyons à nouveau des répétitions en personne. Nous sommes impatients de présenter le Requiem allemand de Johannes Brahms au printemps 2022.   Nous travaillons également, comme toujours, sur d’autres opportunités de concerts.  

 

Nous vous invitons à regarder nos plateformes de médias sociaux ainsi qu’à consulter ce site Web pour des mises à jour régulières.

 

La SPNM recrutera de nouveaux membres cette année et accueillera à nouveau plusieurs de nos membres. N’hésitez pas à visiter notre page recrutement pour plus d’informations.

 

Nos chœurs s’engagent à offrir une musique de qualité à notre public. Nous avons hâte de reprendre là où nous nous sommes arrêtés. Nous sommes impatients de continuer à faire partie de votre communauté musicale une fois de plus.

 

Meilleures salutations,

 

Eunice Racicot,

Présidente

CONSEIL D’ADMINISTRATION

EUNICE RACICOT

Présidente

PIERRE FOUCHER

Vice-président

MARY FRANCES BELL

Secrétaire

GENEVIÈVE RICHER

Trésorière

RODNEY WILLIAMSON

Administrateur

KEN TRUDEL

Administrateur

JEAN DESMARAIS
Pianiste-répétiteur

 

Doué d’une polyvalence hors du commun, le pianiste Jean Desmarais, qui réside maintenant à Ottawa, a eu pour maîtres Monique Collet-Samyn (Hull), Anisia Campos et Rafi Armenian (Montréal), Monique Deschaussées (Paris), Johanna Stieler (Berlin) et Dalton Baldwin (États-Unis).

 

M. Desmarais a remporté de nombreux prix à l’échelle internationale et a interprété plus de 200 œuvres en première mondiale, dont un grand nombre ont été écrites par des compositeurs canadiens. Actif sur les scènes du monde entier, il a été invité à jouer en France, en Italie, en Allemagne, en Pologne, en Roumanie, en Russie, au Mexique, aux États-Unis et au Canada. Il a été soliste pour les Orchestres philharmoniques de Brasov (Roumanie), Stettin (Pologne) et Chihuahua (Mexique), les ensembles I Musici (Montréal) et Les violons du Roy (Québec), ainsi que l’Orchestre de Chambre de Hull.

 

Jean Desmarais s’est produit en récital au Centre des arts de Banff avec le légendaire Pinchas Zukerman; il a aussi collaboré avec Ben Heppner, Dame Kiri Te Kanawa, Amanda Forsyth et Joel Quarrington. Il a agi à titre de consultant pour plusieurs productions de la Compagnie d’opéra canadienne. En 2007, il a été le seul pianiste canadien invité à participer à la commémoration du 50e anniversaire du célèbre récital du pianiste Glenn Gould au conservatoire Tchaïkovski à Moscou.

 

M. Desmarais est l’un des pédagogues les plus respectés au Canada; ses élèves se font remarquer en remportant des prix nationaux et en étudiant dans les grandes écoles de musique, comme la Sorbonne, le Conservatoire de musique d’Amsterdam et l’Institut de musique de Cleveland.

 

Jean Desmarais a été décoré de la médaille commémorative du 125e anniversaire de la Confédération canadienne pour souligner sa contribution exceptionnelle au monde des arts, tant au Canada qu’à l’étranger. Il est récemment entré en fonction à titre de directeur musical et chef d’orchestre de l’ensemble ottavien Strings of St. John’s.

R É P É T I T I O N S 

 

L E S   JEUDIS   S O I R
de   1 9 H 00   À   2 2 H 00

 

à l’église Martin Luther, anciennement l’église luthérienne Mount Calvary, 933, chemin Smyth,
du début septembre à la mi-juin.

VOUS POUVEZ VENIR CHANTER AVEC NOUS EN FAISANT UNE DEMANDE D’AUDITION ICI